The purpose of Golden Pear Awards is to celebrate excellence among the teaching and support staff in the Medford School District and honor those who are improving the lives of students and changing the world every day. We also hope it elevates the profession and provides the community with a sense of pride. We are grateful to the sponsors of this program: MSD, MEA, OSEA, Medford Schools Foundation, Medford/ Jackson County Chamber of Commerce, and Neuman Hotel Group.

The Golden Pear Teacher Recognition Program’s mission is to celebrate and honor excellence in teaching for those teachers who are improving the lives of students.  Publicly recognizing outstanding teachers elevates the profession of teaching, encourages students to think about teaching as a career, and provides the community a sense of pride and investment in their teachers who are making a positive impact on student’s lives every day. Join us as we elect three Golden Pear Teachers annually, one from an elementary, middle and high school level.

The mission of the Golden Pear Support Staff Recognition Program is to highlight the amazing people we have assisting and supporting our students and staff.  It takes many dedicated and caring individuals to help provide kids with the tools they need to graduate and to be lifelong learners. Our Support Staff at the Medford School District have an important role in assisting students not only with their academic education but also in helping them to grow as individuals. A Golden Pear Support Staff Employee is that individual who can inspire and lift students, is respected by those around them, plays an active role in the school or the district, and is a person who tries to make the educational experience a valuable one for students and families. Join us, as we elect one Golden Pear Support Staff Member annually.

2019 Award Winners

  • Teresa McGrath

    Elementary Teacher Award Winner

    Teresa McGrath – Griffin Creek Elementary


    Piet Voskes

    Middle School Teacher Award Winner

    Piet Voskes – Hedrick Middle School


    Kathleen Thomas

    High School Teacher Award Winner

    Kathleen Thomas – North Medford High School

  • Amy Morell

    Support Staff Award Winner

    Amy Morell – Kennedy Elementary School


    Terri Dahl

    Leader Award Winner

    Terri Dahl – Federal Programs & School Improvement